A galaxy of 80s and 90s pop stars celebrated the launch of a new compilation album, Re-Discovered, at a star-studded BBC event in London.

Produced by Mauro Dirago, the album sees legendary DJ Mick Brown joining forces with artists from the 80s and 90s to reimagine their favourite tracks of all time.

Featuring on the album are Sinitta, Leee John, Junior Giscombe, Doris Pearson (Five Star), David Grant, Kym Mazelle, Let Loose, Wang Chung, Ben Ofoedu of Phats & Small and Owen Paul.

The artists chose their favourite songs of all time, which could be either a hit of their own or their favourite song by another artist, re-invented in their own distinct style.

Speaking at the launch on Wednesday, David Grant, formerly of Lynx said: “All the artists who are on this album, they don’t stop being artists when their records stopped charting, or when musical tastes changed. They continued to grow and to develop new sounds, so for people to be able to hear who we are now is really fantastic.”

Album producer, Mauro Dirago said: “This Re-Discovered All Stars album is unique because there have been so many compilation albums that have had the same songs on for 30 or 40 years. What’s new about this is that you’ve got these artists together with new recordings all on one album and this hasn’t happened before. That was the whole dream of this album.”

Songs already released from Re-Discovered include a duet featuring Mauro Dirago and DJ Mick Brown performing Wham’s Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go, a slowed down version styled on George Michael’s Faith.

Also released is, If the World was Ending, a track by recently-reformed 90s band Let Loose which now has Bad Boys Inc singer Matthew Pateman in place of former lead singer Richie Wermerling.

The album will be released on Friday 24 November on all platforms and is also available to pre-order here.