Following the announcement of the first ever Radio 1 Dance Awards last week, all categories and shortlisted artists and tracks have been announced during Danny Howard’s Dance Party Show, Friday 3 December, 6-8pm.

Announced on Friday 26 November, Danny Howard shared initial details about the first Radio 1 Dance Awards, during his Radio 1 Dance Party Show. Aiming to celebrate a year of incredible Dance music and moments, the award categories will highlight tracks, artists and occasions that have helped to make 2021 an amazing year for Dance music, while also reflecting Radio 1’s influence across the scene.

Tonight (3 December) Danny Howard and Pete Tong announced some of the shortlisted artists and tracks ahead of the main awards show, that will take place on Friday 10 December (6-10pm) and will be hosted by Radio 1 DJs Danny Howard, Sarah Story and Pete Tong.

Shortlisted nominees are as follows:

Dance Impact Award
A person, collective or institution that has made a legacy by pushing Dance music forward in 2021.

Body Movements Festival
Dialled In Festival
Jaguar, Future 1000
Lady Of The House
Patrick Topping, Trick Records
Yousef, Circus Liverpool

Dance Album Of The Year
Awarded to the best Dance or Electronic album project release in 2021.

ABSOLUTE. – Wonderland
Bicep – Isles
Black Coffee – Subconsciously
Fred Again .. – Actual Life
Maya Jane Coles – Night Creature

Dance Track Of The Year
Awarded to the biggest Dance track of 2021

Anz feat. George Riley - You Could Be
Ewan McVicar - Tell Me Something Good
Jaden Thompson - Closer
Peggy Gou - I Go
Shouse - Love Tonight

Breakthrough Artist Of The Year
An artist who has broken through to the mainstream this year.

Ben Hemsley
Ewan McVicar
India Jordan
Jaden Thompson

Dance Vocalist Of The Year
This award is presented to the vocalist whose voice we’ve all been singing along to this year.

Karen Harding
Jem Cooke
Dorothy (Shermanology)

Essential Mix Of The Year

Eclair Fifi

Other awards that will be presented on Friday 10th December include: BBC Introducing Dance Artist of the year, Bass Track Of The Year and Mini Mix Of The Year.

Watch the full show tonight from 6pm: