In 1975 the band Sparrow were riding high. They were winners of the TV talent show ‘New Faces’ and had just signed a record deal with the legendary Gerry Bron. Chris White (from The Zombies) had agreed to produce their album, and Mike Moran was on board as musical director. Comprised of five members – John Milton, Tom Marshall, Tony Harding, Stuart Calver, and Brian Hudson, the band were on the cusp of their big break.

The musicians in Sparrow were all successful in their own right. They had been sourced from flourishing bands (Tony Rivers and the Castaways, Harmony Grass, The Symbols) and would later go on to work with an array of musical artists (Cliff Richard, Bucks Fizz, Liquid Gold, Steve Harley, Al Stewart, Shakin’ Stevens, Roger Daltrey, Trevor Horn). Individually they had been managed by Brian Epstein’s NEMS company, by Mickie Most at RAK, and performed for The Beatles at their Christmas party. What stood them apart was being a close harmony group who played their own instruments, and arranged their songs. Popular and professional, they were also the first choice group when it came to recording jingles for the DJs at Radio 1 and Capital. With TV recognition, a record deal, and an album to record, the future looked bright.

Recording sessions for the album began during early 1975 at London’s CBS Recording Studios. Made up of great songs and performances (including one by a guesting Hank Marvin on Amateur Days In The Band) 15 tracks were completed and presented to Bronze Records for release. Headlining and supporting tours were arranged during this time (Gene Pitney, Shirley Bassey) and two singles were released. Despite radio play for both ‘Celebration’ and ‘Oh Doctor’ (which reached number 99 on the chart) the lack of any promotional budget from the label doomed them to commercial failure. Sparrow were informed by both Bronze Records and their management company that they were no longer needed. The Chris White produced album was shelved, never listened to again. Until now.

It has been 45 years since the songs were recorded. Chris White, in conjunction with the surviving members of the band, has lovingly restored and mastered the collection in full to finally finish this wonderful album. Sparrow has been worth the wait.

The Chris White Experience Presents - Sparrow features 15 tracks remastered from the original analogue tapes, and is part of the Chris White catalogue containing over 50 years of hidden musical history.

Find out more at:

Release Date: 09.10.2020

01 – Celebration (R. Argent/C. White)
02 – It's Alright Now (J. Milton)
03 – All My Love (R. Myhill)
04 – Take It Easy (C. White)
05 – Oh Doctor (R. Myhill)
06 – Burning Bridges (J. Milton)
07 – Amateur Days In The Band (R. Myhill)
08 – Venus (R. Ballard)
09 – Catch Sorrow(T. Marshall)
10 – I'm Afraid(Unknown)
11 – Eli's Coming (L. Nyro)
12 – Fifty Fifty (J. Fuller)
13 – She Didn't Forget Her Shoes(E. Beam)
14 – Love(R. Ballard)
15 – So Far So Good(Unknown)

This is the first release from 'The Chris White Experience Presents' series. A treasury of previously unreleased and rarely heard albums, collections, and shelved sessions. It is available alongside the current volumes of The Chris White Experience.

Twitter I Website I Instagram I YouTube I SoundCloud IFacebook