Aretha Franklin has a new album on the way and we may hear with within two week.

According to Roger Friedman, the final mixes are still being put in place but everything is recorded, the album art is done and the set has a tentative title, Aretha Franklin Sings the Songs of the Great Divas.

Included in the set are covers of songs by Adele (Rolling in the Deep, the first single), Gladys Knight and the Pips (Midnight Train to Georgia), Barbra Streisand (People), Etta James (At Last), Alicia Keys (No One), Gloria Gaynor (I Will Survive), Sinead O’Connor (Nothing Compares 2 U) and Whitney Houston/Chaka Khan (I’m Every Woman).

The album is Franklin’s 39th studio set and her first since 2011’s Aretha: A Woman Falling Out of Love.

More details should break soon. Look for Franklin on a number of shows in the coming weeks.

More from VVN Music