Bruce Springsteen had his set cut short when the power was pulled on their show because they went past the curfew time just after he had invited Sir Paul McCartney to join him on stage.

Springsteen had just invited Sir Paul McCartney on stage at the Hard Rock Calling concert in London’s Hyde Park last night and they managed to get through two Beatles songs before some bright spark decided to turn their sound equipment off.

Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band had started the show at 7pm and were due to perform until 10.15pm. London has a nightly curfew at 10.30pm.

Three hours into the set Bruce brought Paul on stage and together they performed ‘I Saw Here Standing There’ and ‘Twist and Shout’ before they were silenced.

Earlier in the evening, Tom Morello and John Fogerty played with Springsteen.

With the power off, Paul and Bruce left the stage but could not thank the audience.

Cold Chisel performed at Hard Rock Calling on Friday night with Soundgarden.

The Bruce Springsteen setlist from Hard Rock Calling London was:

1. Thunder Road (Bruce & Roy)
2. Badlands
3. We Take Care of Our Own
4. Wrecking Ball
5. Death to My Hometown (with Tom Morello)
6. My City of Ruins
7. Spirit In The Night
8. The Promised Land (with John Forgerty)
9. Take ‘Em As They Come
10. Jack of All Trades (with Tom Morello)
11. Empty Sky (solo acoustic)
12. Because the Night
13. Johnny 99
14. Darlington County
15. Workin’ on the Highway
16. Shackled & Drawn
17. Waitin’ on a Sunny Day
18. Raise Your Hand
19. The River
20. The Ghost of Tom Joad (with Tom Morello)
21. The Rising
22. Land of Hope & Dreams


23. We Are Alive
24. Born in the USA
25. Born To Run
26. Glory Days
27. Dancing in the Dark
28. I Saw Her Standing There (with Paul McCartney)
29. Twist and Shout (with Paul McCartney)

Full review from to follow.

More at