Taylor Swift won three prizes at this year's MTV Europe Music Awards, even though the ceremony did not go ahead.

The 2023 MTV EMAs were due to take place in Paris, France on Sunday 5 November, however, MTV organisers cancelled the awards show last month due to the "volatility of world events" amid the conflict in the Middle East.

Instead, executives at the network released the list of winners on Sunday night to honour the fans who had voted for the prizes.

"As fans worldwide voted for their favorite categories including best artist, best song and more, MTV is recognizing the following artists with 2023 MTV EMAs," they stated.

The Shake It Off singer won the most prizes with three - Best Artist, Best Live for The Eras Tour and Best Video for Anti-Hero.

BTS star Jung Kook was a double winner, with him scoring the most votes for Best K-Pop and Best Song for Seven featuring Latto.

Other winners included Lana Del Rey for Best Alterative, Nicki Minaj for Best Hip Hop and Billie Eilish for Best Pop.

Announcing the cancellation in October, organisers said, "Given the volatility of world events, we have decided not to move forward with the 2023 MTV EMAs out of an abundance of caution for the thousands of employees, crew members, artists, fans and partners who travel from all corners of the world to bring the show to life.

"Voting is continuing and the winning artists will receive their MTV EMA Awards. We look forward to hosting the MTV EMAs again in November of 2024."

It marked the first time the MTV EMAs had been cancelled since its launch in 1994.

The full list of winners is as follows:

Best Artist: Taylor Swift

Best Song: Jung Kook Featuring Latto - Seven

Best Video: Taylor Swift - Anti-Hero

Best Collaboration: KAROL G and Shakira - TQG

Best Pop: Billie Eilish

Best R&B: Chris Brown

Best Rock: Maneskin

Best Alternative: Lana Del Rey

Best Electronic: David Guetta

Best Hip Hop: Nicki Minaj

Best K-Pop: Jung Kook

Best Latin: Anitta

Best Live: Taylor Swift

Best New: Peso Pluma

Best Afrobeats: Rema

Best Push: Tomorrow X Together.