Rapper Lil Baby has been crowned the Songwriter of the Year at the 34th annual ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Awards.

The hip-hop star was recognised for the success of songs like Emotionally Scarred, Baby, For the Night, and The Bigger Picture, earning him the honour previously awarded to Cardi B in 2019 and 2020.

Officials at the performing rights organisation also feted the writers behind Chris Brown and Drake's No Guidance track - Anderson 'Vinylz' Hernandez, Che Ecru, Joshua 'J-Louis' Huizar, Matthew 'Boi-1da' Samuels, and Noah '40' Shebib - with the top hip-hop/R&B and rap song accolades at Tuesday's virtual ceremony.

Meanwhile, Kanye West's Follow God was chosen as top gospel song, penned by Bryant 'XCELENCE' Bell and Jahmal 'BoogzDaBeast' Gwin, and the Voice of the Culture Award was presented to Verzuz creators Timbaland and Swizz Beatz, and DJ D-Nice for his Club Quarantine livestream events, which kept fans entertained during the height of the COVID-19 pandemic.