Advertisements

News

Quick quips: Paul McCartney, Metallica, Phil Spector, Don Cornelius, Roy Orbison, Leonard Cohen @PaulMcCartney

added: 7 Feb 2012 // by: VVN Music 

Quick-quips:-Paul-McCartney,-Metallica,-Phil-Spector,-Don-Cornelius,-Roy-Orbison,-Leonard-Cohen Printable version

Paul McCartney will be streaming a concert of songs from his album Kisses On the Bottom this Thursday via iTunes. The show will take place at Capitol Studios, where the album was recorded, and will start at 7 PM PST (10 PM EST).


Tomorrow (Tuesday) it will be Metallica's turn to make some waves with a major announcement set for 11 AM PST (2 PM EST). Those in the know say it is a 3-D concert movie but the world will have to wait a few more hours for the official word.


Donna Clarkson, the mother of Lana Clarkson who was murdered by legendary producer Phil Spector, has reportedly settled with Spector in a wrongful death civil suit. The terms of the settlement are confidential.


Fans of Soul Train creator Don Cornelius, who died last week, spent part of Saturday dancing down New York city streets in bell bottoms and afros before going to a Harlem meeting hall to remember the producer and host. On hand were Roberta Flack, Al Sharpton and former dancers from the show.


Alex and Roy Orbison, Jr. are taking over the reins at Orbison Enterprises after the passing of their mother Barbara Orbison late last year. Roy, Jr. will be responsible for his father, Roy Orbison's estate and catalog while Alex will take on Still Working/Orbison Music Publishing. A third son, Welsey, will also be involved; however, he is currently trying to break into the business and his role will be decided later.
In an official statement, Roy Jr. and Alex said "Our mother was a respected member of the international music business community. She was passionate about keeping our father's legacy alive and she was passionate about her "family" of songwriters. We look forward to continuing and further developing her vision in the years ahead."


It looks like Leonard Cohen is headed for a top ten debut for his new album, Old Ideas. Most industry predictors are showing him between 5 and 8 when this week's charts are released on Thursday on sales that could reach 40,000. If it happens, it would blow away his former top charting album, 1969's Songs From a Room which peaked at 63.

Have Your Say

Get our free BREAKING NEWS email for Music News and Film News. And subscribe to our YouTube channel now!

Share this news story:

Also find us on:


> For more Music-News stories click here



Comments


Bookmark this news story:

Advertisement

Advertisement