Bob Dylan & George Harrison unreleased tracks get Bootleg release 

added: 18 Jul 2013 // by: Noise11 

Bob-Dylan-and-George-Harrison-unreleased-tracks-get-Bootleg-release Printable version

Unreleased Bob Dylan and George Harrison collaborations will surface on Dylan's The Bootleg Series Vol. 10.

Bob Dylan's 10th bootleg album will focus on the early session tapes that would become the Self Portrait and New Morning albums. It was at the time he was working closely with George Harrison who released the All Things Must Pass album around the same time.

Harrison and Dylan co-wrote the opening track from All Things Must Pass titled I'd Have You Anytime and George covered Bob's If Not For You for the album.

The Bootleg Series Vol. 10 will include 35 rarities and previous unreleased material from Dylan sessions from 1969-1971.

The cover is new artwork created by Dylan for the release.

According to

The Standard 2-CD version contains 35 tracks and comes with a soft cover perfect bound booklet. This version will be the newly remastered Self Portrait album in its entirety with original sequencing, i.e this release will begin with Went To See The Gypsy and not All The Tired Horses, which in actual fact was a great opener.

The Deluxe Boxed Set contains 4-CD's and will be housed in a slipcase. This version will contain the newly remastered Self Portrait album across the first two discs but will also include, for the first time ever, the complete 17-song historic performance by Bob Dylan and The Band from the Isle of Wight Festival on August 31, 1969 remixed in superb quality especially for this release.

There will be two hardcover books. Book 1 will feature revisionist Self Portrait liner notes penned by Greil Marcus (author of the notorious What is this shit? review for Rolling Stone magazine. Let's see how he gets out of that one!!). Book 2 contains photos by John Cohen and Al Clayton and an essay from Michael Simmons.

The vinyl LP version contains the 35 Self Portrait tracks across 3 LPs (and 2 CDs) plus a 12 x 12 booklet that includes the Greil Marcus liner notes, the essay from Michael Simmons, and the photographs from John Cohen and Al Clayton. There are also pictures of the original tape boxes and cue sheets.

The Bootleg Series Vol 10 will be released in October.

The Bootleg Series, Vol. 10 ¨C Another Self Portrait (1969-1971) CD 1
1 Went To see The Gypsy (demo)
2 Little Sadie (without overdubs, Self Portrait) 3 Pretty Saro (unreleased, Self Portrait)
4 Alberta #3 (alternate version, Self Portrait)
5 Spanish Is The Loving Tongue (unreleased, New Morning) 6 Annie¡¯s Going To Sing Her Song (unreleased, Self Portrait) 7 Time Passes Slowly #1 (alternate version, New Morning)
8 Only A Hobo (unreleased, Greatest Hits II)
9 Minstrel Boy (unreleased, The Basement Tapes)
10 I Threw It All Away (alternate version, Nashville Skyline) 11 Railroad Bill (unreleased, Self Portrait)
12 Thirsty Boots (unreleased, Self Portrait)
13 This Evening So Soon (unreleased, Self Portrait)
14 These Hands (unreleased, Self Portrait)
15 In Search of Little Sadie (without overdubs, Self Portrait) 16 House Carpenter (unreleased, Self Portrait)
17 All The Tired Horses (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
The Bootleg Series, Vol. 10 ¨C Another Self Portrait (1969-1971) CD 2
1 If Not For You (alternate version, New Morning)
2 Wallflower (alternate version, 1971)
3 Wigwam (original version without overdubs, Self Portrait)
4 Days Of ¡¯49 (original version without overdubs, Self Portrait)
5 Working On A Guru (unreleased, New Morning)
6 Country Pie (alternate version, Nashville Skyline)
7 I¡¯ll Be Your Baby Tonight (Live With The Band, Isle Of Wight 1969) 8 Highway 61 Revisited (Live With The Band, Isle Of Wight 1969)
9 Copper Kettle (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
10 Bring Me A Little Water (unreleased, New Morning)
11 Sign On The Window (with orchestral overdubs, New Morning)
12 Tattle O¡¯Day (unreleased, Self Portrait)
13 If Dogs Run Free (alternate version, New Morning)
14 New Morning (with horn section overdubs, New Morning)
15 Went To See The Gypsy (alternate version, New Morning)
16 Belle Isle (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
17 Time Passes Slowly #2 (alternate version, New Morning)
18 When I Paint My Masterpiece (demo)
Bob Dylan & The Band
Isle of Wight ¨C August 31, 1969
1 She Belongs To Me
2 I Threw It All Away
3 Maggie¡¯s Farm
4 Wild Mountain Thyme 5 It Ain¡¯t Me, Babe
6 To Ramona
7 Mr. Tambourine Man
8 I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine 9 Lay Lady Lay
10 Highway 61 Revisited
11 One Too Many Mornings
12 I Pity The Poor Immigrant
13 Like A Rolling Stone
14 I¡¯ll Be Your Baby Tonight
15 Quinn The Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn) 16 Minstrel Boy
17 Rainy Day Women #12 & 35

More from

Have Your Say

Get our free BREAKING NEWS email for Music News and Film News. Subscribe to our YouTube channel, Twitter and NEW Intagram page.

Share this news story:

Also find us on:

> For more Music-News stories click here


Bookmark this news story: