“If there’s no flowers anymore / what we living for?” asks Catherine Pockson on the fourth single and titular track from Alpines’ impressive new long player Full Bloom. Urged on by Bob Matthews’ sleek production, the song’s budding ambient synths grow into blooming kaleidoscopic soundscapes as Alpines challenge our cultural complacency towards global warming.

For Alpines, it’s a dual metaphor. “The title is in reference to the beauty of the natural world which is so fragile,” explains Pockson, “as well as a nod to what we feel we have achieved musically,” after years of hard graft. Following a damning recent UN climate change report “Full Bloom” confronts our responsibility and denial of global warming. “The song is about the climate crisis, our love of the earth, and how time is really running out,” states Catherine Pockson, “The refrain ‘everything has to change” is both a plea for definitive action, and a wake-up call to those who have yet to accept the reality. If we don’t completely change our way of life within the next few years, the damage to the natural world will be irreversible – some of it already is.”

Alongside their album launch show on the 15th of November, Alpines have also released details of their Full Bloom exhibition which will run between the 15th–30th of November also at Rich Mix London. The exhibition provides an immersive and textural insight into the creation of Full Bloom, in all its layers, combining audio/visual, interactive and art pieces created by Alpines as an extension of the visual world of their new album.

Full Bloom the single is out now, and third album Full Bloom follows on the 16th of November, available to pre-order now: https://alpinesmusic.com/

Alpines play Rich Mix in London on the 15 of November. Tickets from: www.alpinesmusic.com


1. Full Bloom
2. Out Of View
3. Alright
4. Heavy Metal
5. Human
6. Too Young
7. Ghosts
8. Be Yours
9. Summer Run
10. Eyes Open
11. 3D
12. Archangel