ASCAP (American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers) is in the midst of celebrating their 100th anniversary and have announced that they will give their first, once-per-century Centennial Awards to Joan Baez, Garth Brooks, Billy Joel, Stephen Sondheim and Stevie Wonder.

The honorees will receive their honors on Monday, November 17 at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York. ASCAP president Paul Williams will host the evening with performances by special guest artists saluting each of the honorees.

Williams said "Each of our ASCAP Centennial Award recipients is in a class of his or her own, as the creator and performer of songs that have touched the lives of people across the globe. It's wonderful to be able to salute them on the occasion of ASCAP's Centennial year and, as important, to raise funds to perpetuate the important work being done by The ASCAP Foundation."

Keep in mind that the honorees were selected from those artists that are associated with ASCAP, leaving out people like Paul McCartney, John Lennon, Elton John and Willie Nelson who are all associated with BMI.

More from VVN Music