Karen O is releasing the video for “Rapt” from her forthcoming Crush Songs, out September 9 on Cult Records, via Pitchfork.

The video was directed by Barney Clay with production design from K.K. Barrett, who is known for his work with Sofia Coppola and Spike Jonze and was recently nominated for an Oscar for Best Production Design for Her.

Crush Songs will be available for preorder on iTunes starting tomorrow, July 29, with “Rapt” as a free download with preorder. All album formats and several bundles, including a limited t-shirt and pillowcase, are available for preorder now via Cult Records here: http://bit.ly/ShopKarenO. See below for tracklist.

Crush Songs will first be available as a limited, special vinyl edition incorporating Karen’s own personal drawings, handwritten lyrics and more (see the album cover, right, and a note from Karen, below). In addition to this limited edition, the album will be released on standard vinyl, CD and digitally from September 9.

“When I was 27 I crushed a lot,” says Karen of the new record. “I wasn’t sure I’d ever fall in love again. These songs were written and recorded in private around this time. They are the soundtrack to what was an ever continuing love crusade. I hope they keep you company on yours.”

Recorded in 2006 and 2007, the record is an intimate collection of lo-fi, bedroom recordings in the vein of Karen’s Oscar-nominated “The Moon Song.”

Karen O is the frontwoman of Yeah Yeah Yeahs.


1. Ooo
2. Rapt
3. Visits
4. Beast
5. Comes the Night
6. NYC Baby
7. Other Side
8. So Far
9. Day Go By
10. Body
11. King
12. Indian Summer
13. Sunset Sun
14. Native Korean Rock
15. Singalong