The Growlers have announced details of the release of their new album. Chinese Fountain will be released through Fat Cat Records on Monday September 29th 2014.

Having demoed the tracks at guitarist Matt Taylor’s Topanga home, the 11-track album was recorded quickly in a week-and-a-half at Sea Horse Sands Studio in downtown Los Angeles. Produced by JP Plunier, the tracklisting of the album is as follows:

1. Big Toe
2. Black Memories
3. Chinese Fountain
4. Dull Boy
5. Good Advice
6. Going Gets Tuff
7. Magnificent Sadness
8. Love Test
9. Not The Man
10. Rare Hearts
11. Sunset Drive

Self-describing their music as “Beach Goth”, sunburned and salty, the term perfectly describes their distinctive melding of reverb heavy surf guitar and Bakersfield-style honky tonk with ‘80s post-punk. Chinese Fountain, their fourth long-player having formed in Dana Point, California in 2006, is their most confident album to date.

“The band played better than they’ve ever played,” says Brooks Nielsen. “We’ve got the process down now. There’s less screwing around to get the songs laid out and we weren’t waiting around for take after take. We knew it and we played without much time to spare.”

The band also play a number of shows in August, including a short run with The Fat White Family where the bands will toss a coin to determine who will headline each night. The list of shows is as follows:

16th London Oslo (with The Wytches)
17th Bristol The Fleece (with Fat White Family)
18th Liverpool Kazimer (with Fat White Family)
19th Brighton Concorde 2 (with Fat White Family)

The Growlers are: Brooks Nielsen (vocals), Matt Taylor (guitar), Scott Montoya (drums), Anthony Braun Perry (bass) & Kyle Straka (keyboards and guitar).