Pop starlet Charli XCX is pleased to announce details of her new single ‘Boom Clap’, which will be released on July 20 through Asylum Records.

The song is taken from the official soundtrack to the forthcoming film The Fault in Our Stars (the adaptation to the best-selling novel by John Green) and is set to be one of this year’s biggest blockbusters. The film hits UK cinemas on June 20 and the official soundtrack will release on June 9 through Atlantic Records.

Currently in the studio working on new material for her second album, which is set to release later this year, Charli co-wrote ‘Boom Clap’with Patrick Berger, whom she also collaborated with on last year’s global mega hit ‘I Love It’. Speaking about ‘Boom Clap’, 21-year-old Charlotte Aitchison aka Charli XCX says – “’Boom Clap’ is a magical song to me. It celebrates epic love. I want people to dance and cry to it, and scream it at the top of their lungs." The official video for the track was shot in Amsterdam and sees Charli explore the same spots as featured in The Fault in Our Stars movie.

Charli XCX, who was recently named ‘Sesac Writer of the Year’, co-wrote and featured on Iggy Azalea’s current global hit ‘Fancy’. The song (official video) charted at #5 in the UK last month and spent five weeks in UK Top 10! In the US, the track hit the Top 5 on the Billboard 100 chart, #2 on US iTunes and shot straight to #1 on the US Shazam charts. Furthermore, it’s now certified Platinum in the US. Since its release, Charli has performed the track alongside Iggy at this year’s mtvU Woodie Awards, Billboard Music Awards, Good Morning America, Jimmy Kimmel Live! and Dancing with the Stars.

Watch this space for more album news.