Willie Nelson will release, by one source, his 69th studio album on June 17 with Band of Brothers.

The album also marks the first time in nearly two decades that Nelson has recorded an album that was mostly written by him. Nine of the fourteen songs on the set were penned in part or wholly by Nelson with the balance being interpretations of music by Billy Joe Shaver (The Git Go, Hard to Be an Outlaw), Vince Gill (Whenever You Come Around), Bill Anderson (The Songwriters) and others.

Working again with producer Buddy Cannon, who helmed Willie’s first three Legacy releases, and a band featuring Jim “Moose” Brown (keyboards), Eddie Bayers (drums), Kevin “Swine” Grantt (bass), Bobby Terry (guitar), Tommy White (steel guitar), Mickey Raphael (harmonica) and Trigger (Willie’s guitar), Willie recorded the bulk of Band of Brothers during sessions at Sound Emporium Studios in Nashville with additional recording at Pedernales Studio, Austin, Texas and The Hit Factory Criteria, Miami, Florida. Recording sessions took place between October 2013 and March 2014.

Track List:

Bring It On (Willie Nelson/Buddy Cannon)
Guitar in the Corner (Willie Nelson/Buddy Cannon)
The Wall (Willie Nelson/Buddy Cannon)
Whenever You Come Around (Vince Gill/Pete Wasner)
Wives and Girlfriends (Willie Nelson/Buddy Cannon)
I Thought I Left You (Willie Nelson/Buddy Cannon)
Send Me a Picture (Willie Nelson/Buddy Cannon)
Used to Her (Willie Nelson/Buddy Cannon)
The Git Go (Billy Joe Shaver/Gary Nicholson)
Band of Brothers (Willie Nelson/Buddy Cannon)
Hard to Be an Outlaw (Billy Joe Shaver)
Crazy Like Me (Dennis Morgan/Shawn Camp/Billy Burnette)
The Songwriters (Gordie Sampson/Bill Anderson)
I’ve Got a Lot of Traveling to Do (Willie Nelson/Buddy Cannon)

More from VVN Music