Roisin Murphy has revealed a new track from her EP ‘Mi Senti’, which is due to be released via The Vinyl Factory on May 28.

The newly revealed track, ‘In Sintesi’, is the only original song on the EP – which is a collection of classic Italian pop songs.

Roisin says “In Sintesi came together very quickly and I think we all enjoyed the freedom of creating from scratch our own thing, after the weeks of work involved in getting the cover versions close to something we could be proud of. Knowing one's own recorded version has to stand up against the great music you are covering is a pressure you don't have when you write. It started like this; "How do you say 'in synthesis'?”.

The ‘Mi Senti’ EP is a change from the usual programming for Roisin, whose voice is more familiar on dance floors around the world. She has recently collaborated with the likes of Hot Natured and Freeform Five.

For her this was more than just an ‘Italian Project’, but a ‘Singing Project’. She says: “Quite apart from the language, in some of the songs I was on the edge of what my voice can do. For the Mina ones in particular [‘Ancora Ancora Ancora’ and ‘Non Credere’] there were tears and I almost walked away and gave up.”

‘Mi Senti’ showcases some of the greatest Italian singers and songwriters of the 60s and 70s, including Mina (‘Ancora Ancora Ancora’ and ‘Non Credere’), Patty Pravo (‘Pensiero Stupendo’), Lucio Battisti (‘Acora Tu’) and Gino Paoli (‘La Gatta’).

The EP will be available in limited edition gatefold vinyl, and as a digital download.