Sebastien Tellier has announced details of the release of his new album. L’Aventura, his first for Because Music, is released on Monday July 14th 2014.

The ten-track self-produced album was recorded at the CBE & Futur de L’Audiovisuel studios in Paris, Jean-Michel Jarre’s studio in Bougival and Cia dos Tecnicos studio in Rio de Janeiro.

L’Aventura is French singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Tellier’s sixth album following L’Incoyable Verite (2001), Politics (2004), Sexuality (2008), My God Is Blue (2012) and Confection (2013).

The track listing of the album is as follows:

1. Love
2. Sous Les Rayons Du Soleil
3. Ma Calypso
4. L’Adulte
5. Rick L’Adolescent
6. Aller Vers Le Soleil
7. Comment Revoir Oursinet?
8. L’Amour Carnaval
9. Ambience Rio
10. L’Enfant Vert

The video for L’Adulte, the first track to be taken from the album, scroll down to view.

L’Aventura is a concept set in a part-mythical Brazil, cinematic and adventurous, musically it adds exquisite Brazilian tones to Tellier’s usual idiosyncratic palate of Gallic pop & chanson, baroque and electronic. The album is what Tellier equally describes as, “a reinvention of childhood” – namely his own. My job as an artist and singer is to run away from reality. You cannot change the present or the future, so if you want to change reality, change the past.”

Sung mostly in French, but with the occasional English & Italian phrases, Tellier admits that L’Aventura represents a new benchmark in his ambition to marry “complex chords and complex melodies. But without the intellectual or boring side. Brazilian music is perfect as it’s full of mysterious chords and strange melodies, but also light & sunny. I feel my previous albums were just tests to reach this point.”