Gloria Estefan is one of six songwriters chosen for the second class of the new Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame.

The Hall named their first seven inductees last year with inaugural members including Jose Feliciano and Julio Iglesias. This year's class of six is:

•Performing Songwriters
◦Ricardo Arjona (Guatemala)
◦Gloria Estefan (Cuba)
◦Juan Luis Guerra (Dominican Republic)
•Non-Performing Songwriters
◦Omar Alfanno (Panama)
◦Rafael Perez Botija (Spain)
◦Lolita De La Colina (Mexico)

The six inductees were chosen from 24 nominees in the Performing and Non-Performing categories. Those not making the cut include Ruben Blades, Willie Colon, Juan Gabriel and Lalo Schifrin.

Estefan, the highest profile of the inductees in the U.S., wrote the majority of the songs for her group, the Miami Sound Machine, and for her solo career. Among the highlights"

•Always Tomorrow
•Anything For You
•Can't Stay Away From You
•Coming Out of the Dark
•Cut's Both Ways
•Don't Want to Lose You
•Here We Are
•Hotel Nacional
•Live For Loving You
•Rhythm is Gonna Get You
•Words Get In the Way

The 2014 induction ceremony will be held on October 18 at the Ritz Carlton in Miami Beach, FL.

More from VVN Music