Neil Young has released his covers album A Letter Home, without previous announcement, just in time for Record Store Day.

A 12" vinyl version of the album is available from Jack White's Third Man Records site and will be available at participating retailers for Record Store Day. There's no word, at this time, of a release date for the album on CD or via digital download.

The album consists of songs by other songwriters that Young has admired and have influenced him. He has been performing a number of the songs during recent solo shows.

The track list:

•Changes (Phil Ochs)
•Girl From The North Country (Bob Dylan)
•Needle of Death (Bert Jansch)
•Early Morning Rain (Gordon Lightfoot)
•Reason To Believe (Tim Hardin)
•On The Road Again (Willie Nelson)
•If You Could Only Read My Mind (Gordon Lightfoot)
•Since I Met You Baby (Ivory Joe Hunter)
•My Hometown (Bruce Springsteen)
•I Wonder If I Care As Much (Everly Brothers)

The album was recorded at Third Man Studios in the "Third Man Recording Booth", a 1947 Voice-O-Graph Machine the size of a phone booth that was originally a coin operated way for a person to record their own voice.

More from VVN Music