Canterbury psych-rock quartet Syd Arthur will release their new album ‘Sound Mirror’ through Harvest Records on 2nd June.

Self-produced and engineered by Tom Elmhirst (Arcade Fire, Adele, U2), the album was recorded at the band’s Wicker Studios and will be available on CD, vinyl and digitally. Having played at this year’s SxSW Festival, Syd Arthur return to the US next month to perform at Coachella.

The band will appear at The Great Escape and Live At Leeds in May (venues TBC):

Sat 3rd May Live At Leeds Leeds
Fri 9th May The Great Escape Brighton

Comprising Liam Magill (lead vocals, guitar), his brother Joel (bass, vocals), Raven Bush (violin, keyboards, mandolin), and Fred Rother (drums), the band released their debut album ‘On An On’ in 2012. The record justly earned Syd Arthur widespread critical acclaim and led to support slots with confirmed fan Paul Weller, The Pixies, White Denim and Vampire Weekend.

‘Sound Mirror’s genesis began in late 2012 with the band traveling to Rother’s parents’ house in Ireland, their equipment literally in tow. They spent the summer laying the groundwork for the album before finally setting to work at their own Wicker Studios in Southeast London. Progressive in the truest sense, tracks like ‘Forevermore’ and ‘Backwardstepping’ evolve the archetypal Canterbury sound into a surprisingly heartfelt mutation of Arcadian acoustica and Syd Arthur’s own uniquely modern voice. ‘Hometown Blues’ – perhaps the most plainspoken song in the band’s increasingly rich oeuvre – was born of a 2012 collaborative session with avowed fan Paul Weller at his Solid Bond Productions Ltd. Studio.

“We were jamming and it just fell out,” Liam says. “Weller actually got my book out and read through it – that was pretty nuts. I nailed it, the essence of what I was trying to say.”

‘Sound Mirror’ track listing:
1. Garden Of Time
2. Hometown Blues
3. Autograph
4. What’s Your Secret
5. All And Everything
6. Forevermore
7. Backwardstepping
8. Chariots
9. Singularity
10. Sink Hole

Garden of Time – watch the video below.