It's officially here, the launch of the Shure Songwriting Award 2014 in partnership with the Institute of Contemporary Music Performance and BASCA. We are really excited to announce that this year's celebrity judge will be Sam Duckworth (Get Cape. Wear Cape. Fly).

Get Cape. Wear Cape. Fly is the stage name of English artist Sam Duckworth. He is sometimes referred to as GetCape, Cape, GCWCF and Slam Dunkworth. Sam has collaborated with Billy Bragg, Nitin Sawhney, Shlomo, Killa Kela, Baba Maal, Flea, Kate Nash, and many others.

This acclaimed award, offered through a partnership between the Institute, BASCA and Shure aims to provide aspiring songwriters with an unrivalled opportunity to develop their talent. The winner will receive a unique opportunity to attend the Institute's fantastic BA Songwriting course and receive a third off fees annually a prize worth over 6,000. They will also receive a special opportunity to record with Sam Duckworth in his personal studio as well as performance and studio microphones from Shure worth £500. The runner up will get a Shure SM58 microphone and a pair of Shure SRH440 studio headphones.

Last year's competition judged by folk-punk singer Frank Turner received an enormous response with talent from all around the globe vying to win the prestigious award. The winner, Uri Sade from Israel says:

"It was a big honour for me to win the Shure Songwriting award. The fact I was chosen out of so many other songwriters gave me a lot of motivation to keep doing what I like to do the most - writing songs. The Institute is such a great environment to develop as a songwriter. Since I've started the course I've written dozen of songs, collaborated with different kinds of writers and gained a lot of experience."

To enter, all you have to do is upload an original song to by the deadline of 29th May 2014. You will then have four weeks to try and gain as many public votes as possible. A combination of public votes and an expert panel of judges will select the top eight, with Sam Duckworth choosing the final prize-winners.