Songwriters Hall of Fame to Induct Ray Davies, Donovan, Graham Gouldman, Jim Weatherly and Mark James.

The Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced the five artists and writers to be inducted on June 12.

Making the cut are (including their noted compositions):

•Ray Davies
◦You Really Got Me
◦All Day and All of the Night
◦A Well Respected Man
◦Sunny Afternoon
◦Tired of Waiting For You
◦Dedicated Follower of Fashion
◦Waterloo Sunset
◦Come Dancing

◦Catch the Wind
◦Sunshine Superman
◦Mellow Yellow
◦There is a Mountain
◦Wear Your Love Like Heaven
◦Hurdy Gurdy Man

•Graham Gouldman
◦For Your Love
◦Heart Full of Soul
◦Bus Stop
◦Look Through Any Window
◦No Milk Today
◦Listen People
◦I'm Not in Love
◦The Things We Do For Love

•Jim Weatherly
◦Midnight Train to Georgia
◦You're the Best Thing That Ever Happened to Me
◦Neither One of Us (Wants to Be the First to Say Goodbye)
◦Where Peaceful Waters Flow
◦The Need to Be
◦I'll Still Love You

•Mark James
◦Hooked on a Feeling
◦The Eyes of a New York Woman
◦Suspicious Minds
◦Raised on Rock
◦One Hell of a Woman
◦Moody Blue
◦Always on My Mind

Jimmy Webb, chairman of the Songwriters Hall of Fame, said "Each of our 2014 inductees has been responsible for captivating the world with their creativity for decades, serving up a rich variety of songs for our global soundtrack. We are looking forward to celebrating their contributions at our Annual Awards Gala."

The gala will be held on Thursday, June 12 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York.

The artists who did were nominated for induction but did not make the cut were Harry Wayne Casey, Vince Gill, Cyndi Lauper, Madonna, John Mellencamp, Jimmy Page and Robert Plant, Linda Perry, Nile Rodgers and Bernard Edwards, Sade, Cat Stevens, Ann and Nancy Wilson, Bill Anderson, Bobby Braddock, Hugo and Luigi, Sandy Linzer and Denny Randell, Tony MacAulay, Dan Penn and Spooner Oldman, Don Robertson and William "Mickey" Stevens.

More from VVN Music