The man without a record label, Morrissey, has finally landed a worldwide agreement with Harvest Records.

The singer has been without a label since shortly after the release of Years of Refusal in 2009. His tenth studio album and debut on Harvest is expected later this year. Plans are to enter the studio in late-January with producer Joe Chiccarelli along with his band, Boz Boorer (guitar), Jesse Tobias (guitar), Solomon Walker (bass), Matthew Walker (drums) and Gustavo Manzur (keyboards).

Doctors had advised Morrissey to retire last year after a series of serious medical events; however, the singer appears to be ready to surge forward with plans to tour later in the year.

According to Capitol Music Group Chairman and CEO Steve Barnett, "Morrissey is clearly one of music's most important and influential artists. He is the rare soul who has stayed consistently true to his artistic vision and ethical principles since he first exploded onto the scene in the 1980s. We are so happy that he has chosen Capitol Music Group as his home and that his forthcoming album on Harvest will bring new Morrissey music to the world."

CMG Executive Vice President Michelle Jubelirer added, "Morrissey is a truly singular artist whose music and live performances first captured a worldwide audience thirty years ago and never let go. He is uncompromising in his integrity, extremely devoted to his fans and an artist with a unique and needed voice in our culture. It's so great that Morrissey is with CMG, and, more important, that he is about to record his first new album in five years."

More from VVN Music