A significant year for musical creativity and excellence is confirmed by the 12 Albums of the Year shortlisted for the 2013 Barclaycard Mercury Prize, announced on Wednesday 11 September.

“This year’s Barclaycard Mercury Prize shortlist celebrates a fascinating year for British and Irish music, marked by a wonderful range of musical voices – urgent, reflective, upbeat and tender, acoustic and electronic, and all with something intriguing to say”, says Simon Frith, Chair of Judges.

The 2013 Albums of the Year are:

Arctic Monkeys - AM
David Bowie - The Next Day
Disclosure - Settle
Foals - Holy Fire
Jake Bugg - Jake Bugg
James Blake - Overgrown
Jon Hopkins - Immunity
Laura Marling - Once I Was An Eagle
Laura Mvula - Sing to the Moon
Rudimental - Home
Savages - Silence Yourself
Villagers - Awayland

The Barclaycard Mercury Prize celebrates a year in UK music. The shortlist, chosen from an entry of over 220 albums, was announced by Lauren Laverne. The event was hosted by The Hospital Club in Covent Garden, the club for the creative industries.

Dedicated television coverage of the event will be broadcast on Channel 4 at 12.10am on the night of Thursday 12 September. The 30 minute Albums of the Year Launch programme will be presented by Nick Grimshaw and feature live performances and interviews with the shortlisted artists.