Nirvana will re-release their final studio album ‘In Utereo’ in September 2013 and have dropped a bizarre 30-second video from 1993 to announce the release.

The video features Dave Grohl, Kurt Cobain and Krist Novoselic dressed as woman getting birthing lessons from Bobcat Goldthwait.

The September release will mark the 20th anniversary of the original release of ‘In Utereo’ on September 13, 1993. Kurt Cobain died the following year on April 5, 1994.

‘In Utereo’ was a rawer album than the previous ‘Nevermind’ that established Nirvana as the masters of grunge. The album was produced by Steve Albini and recorded over a jammed two-week session in February 1993 at Pachyderm Studio, Cannon Falls, Minnesota.

Before making the album Nirvana feared interference in creative control from their record label and decided to fund ‘In Utereo’ by themselves so that the label had no say in how it sounded.

The In Utereo tracklisting is:

All songs written by Kurt Cobain except where noted.

“Serve the Servants” – 3:36
“Scentless Apprentice” (Cobain, Dave Grohl, Krist Novoselic) – 3:48
“Heart-Shaped Box” – 4:41
“Rape Me” – 2:50
“Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge on Seattle” – 4:09
“Dumb” – 2:32
“Very Ape” – 1:56
“Milk It” – 3:55
“Pennyroyal Tea” – 3:37
“Radio Friendly Unit Shifter” – 4:51
“tourette’s” – 1:35
“All Apologies” – 3:51

Bonus track
“Gallons of Rubbing Alcohol Flow Through the Strip” (Cobain, Grohl, Novoselic) – 7:28

A 20th anniversary edition of ‘Nevermind’ was released in 2011. It featured bonus tracks. Nirvana have not announced what bonus tracks will be included on the 20th anniversary edition of ‘In Utereo’.

More from