Goo Goo Dolls have a long history – when the band started 27 years ago, they were a post-hardcore/thrash band – ripped jeans, baseball cap backwards, guitars slung low.

Then Scream brought them to a whole new audience - the album from which it came, Dizzy Up the Girl, has sold over 5 million copies worldwide. Recently, three of the band’s songs were placed in Billboard’s Top 100 of 2002-12, with “Iris” standing at No. 1.

Now, this multi-platinum, Grammy-nominated band are feeling particularly good about their tenth album, Magnetic, due for release on May 6th 2013.

More to the point, the Goo Goo Dolls are feeling particularly good. Period. “This album was really upbeat and fun,” says John Rzeznik, the trio’s primary singer, songwriter and guitarist since it was founded in Buffalo in 1986. “I don’t think we’ve made a record like this in a while.”

Bassist Robby Takac, whose partnership with Rzeznik has been the band’s foundation since the start, has just had his first child, and Rzeznik is getting married this summer. That joy is all there in the spirit of the 11 new songs on the album, for which Rzeznik, Takac and drummer Mike Malinin — the lineup steady since 1995 — recorded in New York, London and Los Angeles with Gregg Wattenberg (Train), Rob Cavallo (Green Day), John Shanks (Bon Jovi) and Greg Wells (Katy Perry). From the celebratory single “Rebel Beat” to the love-rediscovery ballad “Slow It Down,” from the blue-collar anthem “Keep the Car Running” to the meltingly romantic “Come to Me,” Magnetic is an album bursting with a spirit of renewal.

Tracklisting for the album is:

1. Rebel Beat
2. When the World Breaks Your Heart
3. Slow it Down
4. Caught in the Storm
5. Bringing On The Light
6. Come To Me
7. More of You
8. BulletProofAngel
9. Last Hot Night
10. Happiest of Days
11. Keep the Car Running

For more information visit

Listen to "Rebel Beat" below.