Cult Records is set to release ‘Strike Gently’, the long-awaited second album from critically acclaimed New York band the Virgins on 18th March.

Recorded in New York at the East Village Recording Centre (underneath the site of the storied former rock club ‘Brownies’), the album was produced by The Unicorn Parade (Johnny T. Yerington and Gus Oberg).

Cult Records founder Julian Casablancas notes, “When I first saw the Virgins I was psyched there was such a rad new band from NYC. Donald’s such an awesome guy and it’s great to meet someone who’s such a true artist. I think they’ve made a classic record and we’re really excited they chose to work with us.”

‘Strike Gently’ is the follow-up to the Virgins’ 2008 self-titled debut, which NME raved was “jam-packed with pop hits” and Entertainment Weekly called “punchy and slinky and over before you know it, but good, dirty fun while it lasts”. SPIN noted “these New York kids reflect the mirror-ball gleam of primo INXS and ‘Emotional Rescue’ era Rolling Stones onto the lives of today’s young, rich, and wasted.”

The group was started by frontman Donald Cumming in 2006 and features Max Kamins (bass), Xan Aird (guitar) and John Eatherly (drums). They have shared stages with Iggy Pop and the Stooges, Lou Reed, Sonic Youth and Patti Smith and have appeared on ‘The Late Show with David Letterman,’ ‘Late Night with Conan O’Brien,’ ‘Late Night with Jimmy Fallon’ and ‘Last Call with Carson Daly.’ The single ‘Rich Girls’ from their 2008 release was included on Rolling Stone’s list of the ‘100 Best Songs of 2008.’

‘STRIKE GENTLY’ tracklisting:

1. Prima Materia
2. Wheel of Fortune
3. Flashbacks, Memories, and Dreams
4. Figure on the Ice
5. Impressions of You
6. What Good is Moonlight
7. Travel Express (from me)
8. The Beggar
9. Amelia
10. Blue Rose Tattoo