Edwyn Collins has announced details of the release of his 8th solo album. Understated will be released through his own AED label on Monday 25th March 2013.

The 11-track album was self-produced with his long time studio partner Seb Lewsley and recorded at West Heath Studios in London and during the 2nd half of 2012, except for a couple of earlier recordings.

The tracklisting of the album is as follows:

1. Dilemma
2. Baby Jean
3. Carry On, Carry On
4. 31 Years
5. It’s A Reason
6. Too Bad
7. Down The Line
8. Forsooth
9. In The Now
10. Understated
11. Love’s Been Good To Me

All songs were written by Edwyn, except Love’s Been Good To Me, a Rod McKuen cover and the album features the musicians Barrie Cadogan (Little Barrie, Primal Scream), James Walbourne (The Pretenders, Ray Davies, Pernice Brothers, Dead Flamingoes), Carwyn Ellis (Colorama, The Pretenders), Sean read (The Rockingbirds, Dexys), David Ruffy (The Ruts, Dexys) & Paul Cook (The Sex Pistols).

Edwyn also plays a number of U.K. dates in the spring, the full list of dates are as follows:

12th Leeds Brudenell Social Club
13th Pocklington Arts Centre
14th Hebden Bridge The Trades Club
15th Aberdeen Lemon Tree
17th Strathpeffer Pavilion
18th Glasgow ABC
20th Liverpool Philharmonic Hall
21st Birmingham Glee Club
22nd Cambridge The Junction
24th London Union Chapel
25th Brighton St George’s Church

Edwyn was recently honoured at this year’s AIM Awards where he received the ‘Outstanding Contribution To Music’ award.

The last 12 months have seen Edwyn concentrate on running his AED record label, produce records for Vic Godard, Colorama, Charlie Boyer & The Voyeurs, Linden and London Mississippi with Seb Lewsley and begin work on a film about his life and music titled In Your Voice, In Your Heart with filmmakers Edward Lovelace & James Hall.