The nominees for the first ever Liverpool Music Awards were announced at Eric’s, Mathew Street on Wednesday October 10, during an evening of Liverpool music.

With live performances from the newly reformed and platinum selling indie-pop band Space, ex Icicle Works frontman Ian McNabb along with Stephen Langstaff and newcomers The Mono Lp’s, Mic Lowry, The Last Gambados, Miss Stylie and the cast of Mam I’m ‘Ere. The night was hosted by BBC Radio Merseyside's Dave Monks, with local musicians including members of The Coral, The Zutons and the Lightning Seeds turning out to support the nominations.

Last week the judging panel met to deliberate and shortlist the categories. The panel includes; broadcaster Janice Long, BBC Radio Merseyside DJ Billy Butler and son Lee Butler from Radio City, founder of LIPA, Mark Featherstone-Witty, Jennifer John, artistic director of Sense of Sound, programme director for the MA in music industry studies at the University of Liverpool Dr Mike Jones, Simon Glinn, executive director of Liverpool Philharmonic Hall & events, Liverpool Echo music writer Jade Wright and BBC Radio Merseyside's Dave Monks.

The One to Watch category will see alternative folk band All We Are, Wallasey four-piece Guardians and acoustic ensemble The Hummingbirds battle it out. Special mention went to 15 year old singer-songwriter Dominic Dunn who was too young to be nominated.

Nominated for male artist of the year is indie-pop folk singer Ali Ingle, the man dubbed the ‘Mersey Van Morrison’ Robert Vincent and the self-professed soul powered nerd, Esco Williams.

Female artist of the year will be between X Factor star Rebecca Ferguson, mezzo-soprano Kathryn Rudge and folk singer, songwriter and playwright Lizzie Nunnery.

Fighting it out for band of the year are five-piece synth rock/pop band Man Get Out, psychedelic folktronica group Stealing Sheep and the synth pop Tea Street Band.

Heavenly Records Stealing Sheep are also nominated for album of the year along with Bill Ryder Jones, the ex guitarist from The Coral and former Mercury Music Prize nominee Ian Mcnabb. In a year that has been tough for live music, The Caledonia, The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic and The Kazimier have been nominated for Live music venue of the year.

Award categories include; Live music venue of the year, Live music night of the year, artist manager/management team of the year, producer/production team of the year, recording studio of the year, record label of the year, single of the year, album of the year, female artist of the year, male artist of the year, band of the year, DJ of the year and one to watch.

The awards for Local music champion, The Roger Eagle award for outstanding contribution to music and lifetime achievement awards will be announced at the red-carpet ceremony, hosted by Radio 2 DJ Janice Long at The Dome Grand Central Hall on Saturday November 17. On the night chart-topping band Lawson and Liverpool indie popstars The Wombats will appear along with members of Frankie Goes to Hollywood and Liz McClarnon, with live performances including X Factor finalist Craig Colton and MOBO Unsung award winner Esco Williams. Funds raised on the night will be in aid of Youth Music charity.

Public voting is now open online at and tickets to the Liverpool Music Awards are available now through Ticketmaster.

Liverpool Music Award Nominations
One to watch sponsored by Andrew Collinge*
All We Are
The Hummingbirds
*Special mention went to 15 year old singer-songwriter Dominic Dunn who was too young to be nominated

Male artist of the year
Ali Ingle
Robert Vincent
Esco Williams
Female artist of the year sponsored by Rare London

Kathryn Rudge
Lizzie Nunnery
Rebecca Ferguson

Band of the year
Man Get Out
Stealing Sheep
Tea Street Band
Single of the year sponsored by McEntegart Legal Limited

Bang On - Got It
Tea Street Band - Summer Dreaming
Sound of Guns - Antarctica

Album of the year
Stealing Sheep - Into the diamond sun
Bill Ryder Jones - If
Ian Mcnabb - Little Episodes
DJ of the year*
James Rand
Lee Butler
Bernie Connor
*Special mention: Anton Powers & Jessica Doyle
Live music venue of the year sponsored by Hotel Indigo

The Caledonia
The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic
The Kazimier
Manager/management team of the year sponsored by Haines Watts

Bold Management
Josh Mateer
Charlotte Bower
Producer/production team of the year sponsored by Fierce Management

Mike Cave
Rob Whiteley
Mike Crossey

Record label of the year*
Viper Recordings
*Special mention: Payper Tiger

Recording studio of the year
Parr Street studios
Creative Minds Charity
*Special mention: Whitewood

Live music night of the year
Liverpool Acoustic
Monday Club
Harvest Sun presents
*Special mention: Festevol

Local music champion, Roger Eagle award for outstanding contribution to music and Lifetime achievement award will be announced at the Liverpool Music Awards ceremony.