The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame have announced their nominees for the 2013 induction which includes a diverse array of fifteen different artists. The nominees cut across all genres from rock, blues, R&B, electronica and rap.

Two artists who were eligible for the first time this year made the cut, rap artists Public Enemy and N.W.A. Eight additional artists have been eligible in previous years but have never been nominated: Albert King, Deep Purple, Joan Jett & the Blackhearts, the Marvelettes, the Meters, the Paul Butterfield Blues Band, Procol Harum and Rush.

Among artists who have been bridesmaids but never brides are Chic, who are up for the seventh time, Donna Summer who is on her fifth and Heart, Kraftwerk and Randy Newman who are trying for the second time.

Albert King (Eligible since 1988 - First nomination)
Chic (Eligible since 2003 - Seventh nomination (2003, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2013))
Deep Purple (Eligible since 1994 - First nomination)
Donna Summer (Eligible since 2000 - Fifth nomination (2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013)
Heart (Eligible since 2002 - Second nomination (2012, 2013)
Joan Jett & the Blackhearts (Eligible since 2006 - First nomination)
Kraftwerk (Eligible since 1996 - Second nomination (2003, 2013)
Marvelettes (Eligible since 1987 - First nomination)
Meters (Eligible since 1995 - First nomination)
N.W.A. (First year eligible)
Paul Butterfield Blues Band (Eligible since 1989 - First nomination)
Procol Harum (Eligible since 1993 - First nomination)
Public Enemy (First year eligible)
Randy Newman (Eligible since 1990 - Second nomination (2005, 2013)
Rush (Eligible since 1999 - First nomination)

Eligible for the first time this year but not making the cut are artists like George Michael, Jane's Addiction, the Pixies and Sinead O'Connor.

Five of the artists will make the final cut and be inducted into the hall. This year, for the first time, one of the ballots will be submitted via a fan vote at the Hall site.

More from