Ben Folds Five, the groundbreaking trio who changed the course of alternative rock in the mid-1990s, are releasing The Sound Of The Life Of The Mind the group's first album of new music in 13 years.

The first single from the album is the brilliant Do It Anyway which features the kind of driving instrumentation that made them so unique.

The Sound Of The Life Of The Mind will be released worldwide on their own label, ImaVeePee Records/ Sony Music on September 18.

The all-new album also includes stand out tracks "Erase Me", "Michael Praytor, Five Years Later", "Sky High", "The Sound Of The Life Of The Mind", "On Being Frank","Draw A Crowd", "Do It Anyway", "Hold That Thought", "Away When You Were Here" and "Thank You For Breaking My Heart".

A portion of the funds generated by album sales, and other BFF items ordered by fans through Pledge Music, will be used to support Music Education and Music Therapy, a charity personally chosen by Ben Folds Five. PledgeMusic builds a charitable component into each of the campaigns running under its auspices.

Ben Folds Five--Ben Folds (piano), Robert Sledge (bass) and Darren Jessee (drums)-- launched in Chapel Hill, North Carolina in 1994. The trio's high energy gigs won them an intensely loyal fanbase. BFF signed first with an indie before a move to Sony.