Charlie Watts has recorded a new version of ‘Route 66′, the Bobby Troup song also made famous by The Rolling Stones in the 1960s.

Watts, the drummer for The Rolling Stones, has a new band called The A, B, C & D Of Boogie Woogie. The name is a reference to the first names of the guys in the band, Axel Zwingenberger, Ben Waters, Charlie Watts & Dave Green.

‘The A,B,C & D of Boogie Woogie’ released their album ‘Live In Paris’ on Eagle Records this week.

Bobby Troup wrote ‘(Get Your Kicks On) Route 66′ in 1946. It was first recorded by Nat King Cole. The Rolling Stones recorded it in 1964. Glenn Frey recorded it recently for his ‘After Hours’ album.

‘Live In Paris’ is the first album release by Charlie’s “other” band. It was recorded over several nights in September 2010 at the Duc Des Lombards jazz club in Paris. The setlist is their regular mix of originals, improvisations and blues and boogie woogie standards all played with their trademark virtuosity and love for the genre.

1) Bonsoir Boogie!
2) Evolution Blues
3) (Get Your Kicks On) Route 66
4) Somebody Changed The Lock On My Door
5) Roll ‘Em Pete
6) Duc De Woogie Boogie
7) Street Market Drag
8) Struttin’ At Sebastopol
9) More Sympathy For The Drummer
10) Blues Des Lombards
11) Down The Road A Piece
12) St Louis Blues
13) Low Down Dog
14) Encore Stomp