Ne-Yo will be the recipient of the prestigious Hal David Starlight Award, to be presented at the 43rd Annual Induction and Awards Dinner slated for Thursday, June 14 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City, Songwriters Hall of Fame Chairman Jimmy Webb announced today.

The Hal David Starlight Award, created in 2004, was renamed in honor of SHOF Chairman Emeritus Hal David, for his longtime support of young songwriters. Award recipients are gifted young songwriters who are making a significant impact in the music industry via their original songs. Ne-Yo joins the prestigious company of Rob Thomas, Alicia Keys, John Mayer, John Legend, John Rzeznik, Jason Mraz, Taylor Swift and Drake.

“Ne-Yo’s beginnings as a young singer-songwriter and his subsequent rise as a chart-topping writer and producer make him the perfect choice for the prestigious Hal David Starlight Award,” commented SHOF Chairman and legendary songwriter Jimmy Webb. “We are looking forward to applauding his many accomplishments at our Annual Awards Gala.”

Previously announced inductees at this year’s SHOF event include Gordon Lightfoot, Bob Seger, Don Schlitz, Harvey Schmidt & Tom Jones and Jim Steinman. The Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Bette Midler and the Abe Olman Publisher Award will be presented to Lance Freed. “Stand By Me” will receive the Towering Song Award with Ben E. King honored with the Towering Performance Award.