Carly Simon has been selected by the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) to receive their prestigious Founder's Award.

The Founders Award honors pioneering songwriters who have made exceptional contributions to music, inspiring and influencing their fellow music creators. Past recipients include Ashford & Simpson, Burt Bacharach & Hal David, Alan & Marilyn Bergman, Jackson Browne, Elvis Costello, Melissa Etheridge, Billy Joel, Annie Lennox, Sir Paul McCartney, Joni Mitchell, Smokey Robinson, Patti Smith, Steely Dan, Rod Stewart, James Taylor, Tom Waits, Ann and Nancy Wilson (Heart), Stevie Wonder and Neil Young.

ASCAP President and Chairman Paul Williams commented: "Carly Simon has always poured her heart and soul into her songwriting, and in the process she has helped re-write the rule book on what popular music can achieve and how it can profoundly change people’s lives. She is a true musical pioneer and ASCAP is extremely proud to honor her with the Founders Award."

ASCAP will also honor the songwriters and publishers of the most performed songs of 2011 at the ceremony. Top awards will be given out for Songwriter of the Year, Song of the Year and Publisher of the Year. The ceremony is April 18 at the Renaissance Hollywood Hotel in Los Angeles.