Retiring metal legends Judas Priest have announced a 17-CD, career-spanning box set.

As NWOBHM icons Judas Priest wind up their career, they’ve announced a forthcoming box set showcasing 17 studio and live albums from the classic Rob Halford, Glenn Tipton, K.K. Downing and Ian Hill line-up.

The box set will have remastered editions of their first two albums Rocka Rolla and Sad Wings Of Destiny as well as 1987’s Priest…Live! and the 2009 live compilation A Touch Of Evil… Live.

Each album will be packaged in a replica mini-LP sleeve reproducing the original cover art, and the box set comes with a 40-page booklet with photos, credits, and liner notes by rock journalist and Priest superfan Greg Prato.

The Complete Albums Collection’ box set will be available only through , from January 24.

In December 2010 Judas Priest said they would retire the band after an extensive Farewell Epitaph World Tour.

It should wind up this year, and to cap off a four decade career they will also release their final album.