Eric Clapton says when most musicians try and go forward with their new music, he has gone in the opposite direction. He has gone back in time.

“When I look for what I am going to listen to I go backwards. I am always going the other way,” he says in a video at his website. “Most people are trying to figure out “how do I get in the fast lane going that way”. I am going in the other direction. I want to find the oldest thing to do.”

‘Clapton’, the 19th studio album from Eric Clapton, will be released at the end of September. He says he has been singing some of these songs for 60 years. “I’ve waited a long time to do some of these songs,” he said. “I heard ‘When Somebody Thinks You’re Wonderful’ when I was a kid. Before I was a teenager, when I was 7, 8, 9, I heard these songs. I know them. I have been singing them in my head for 60 years and I learned them then. If you say lets go on do that, I will go in and sing them first take – nothing to learn. That’s what I love about this experience”.

‘Clapton’ features collaborations with J.J, Cale, Allen Toussaint and Wynton Marsalis plus songs from ‘Irving Berlin and Hoagy Carmichael as well as new Clapton songs.

The tracklisting is:

1 Travelin’ Alone
2 Rocking Chair
3 River Runs Deep
4 Judgement Day
5 How Deep Is The Ocean
6 My Very Good Friend The Milkman
7 Can’t Hold Out Much Longer
8 That’s No Way To Get Along
9 Everything Will Be Alright
10 Diamonds Made From Rain*
11 When Somebody Thinks You’re Wonderful
12 Hard Times Blues
13 Run Back To Your Side
14 Autumn Leaves
15 You Better Watch Yourself