Tom The Lion to release debut album 

added: 14 Dec 2013 // by: Newsdesk 

Tom-The-Lion-to-release-debut-album Printable version

The Leamington born and London based singer/songwriter Tom the Lion will be releasing his debut album in February 2014.

Following on from his critically acclaimed first two EPs 'Sleep' is the culmination of Tom's song writing to date. An ethereal, yet powerful release that consolidates his influences while also demonstrating his unique talent

Early adopters have known the intangible allure of this artist for two years now, back to the 2011 emergence of two limited, highly collectible, double vinyl 10-inch EPs, 'The Adventures Of Tom The Lion.' His profile has grown since the taste making Radio 1 DJ Rob Da Bank heard the EPs at Rough Trade and invited Tom the Lion to record a session at Maida Vale with him.

This experience proved to be the catalyst for Tom forging his own path as a live performer. 'I'd never done anything live before, other than lots of drumming, and I hadn't thought that much about it, because it was a bedroom project. So then it was, 'How do I go about trying to make this live?' because obviously it's very different to quietly whispering into a microphone, with the neighbors around you. That's when I first started singing properly.'

He's come a long way since these early forays into live performance, and is now an accomplished performer, creating lush and intricate soundscapes with nothing more than electric guitar, sampling pedals and the occasional of piano. Tom's distinctive voice (often compared to Jeff Buckley or even Michael Stipe) gives his songs an emotional power which never fails to capture his audience, and it won't be a surprise if 2014 sees him become one of the UK's hottest tickets.

Tom the Lion ' Sleep
1. Sleep
2. Motorcade
3. Silent Partner
4. Oil Man
5. Beholden
6. November Beach
7. Every Single Moment
8. Winters Wool
9. Our Beloved Past
10. Ragdoll
11. Heal
12. Come To Life

Have Your Say

Get our free BREAKING NEWS email for Music News and Film News. And subscribe to our YouTube channel now!

Share this news story:

Also find us on:

> For more Music-News stories click here


Bookmark this news story: