Bombay Bicycle Club announce new album title, tracklisting & artwork 

added: 5 Dec 2013 // by: Newsdesk 

Bombay-Bicycle-Club-announce-new-album-title,-tracklisting-and-artwork Printable version

Bombay Bicycle Club continue to blaze a trail as one of the UK's most prolific and ambitious bands with the release of their fourth album in five years, 'So Long, See You Tomorrow' (on February 3rd 2014 via Island Records) ' and by unveiling the album's 'moving, breathing' artwork.

The band will preview some songs from the new album at an exclusive intimate gig on December 13th at Abbey Road Studios. Fans can go to the pre-order page for the new album at to find out how to get tickets.

The album illustration is inspired by the work of groundbreaking 19th century photographer Eadweard Muybridge. A pioneer in the field of stop-motion photography, Muybridge was famed for his zoopraxiscope, a device for projecting motion pictures that pre-dated the film strips used in cinematography before digital.

Designed by La Boca, the unusual and distinctive image depicts a man journeying under the guidance of the sun and the moon in their cycles and in an opposing direction to a silhouetted woman. Echoing the theme of continuity, it is a particularly apt fit with the record as the new BBC album ambitiously comprises a series of beautiful melodies built around loops all interlinked by ONE big loop.

Penned by multi-talented frontman Jack Steadman ' who wrote the record while travelling through India, Turkey, Europe and Tokyo, leaving it audibly awash with references from each of these cultures ' he intended it from the outset to tell a story from the first track through to its finale. Jack explains: 'I think there is a romantic side to it, although I always try to leave the meaning side of a song and theme wide open.'

Jack also self-produced the album which was recorded over 18 months in the band's own studio and engineered and mixed by Mark Rankin (QOTSA, AlunaGeorge) ' there are familiar backing vocals by long-time collaborator Lucy Rose and newcomer Rae Morris. Jack adds: 'The last few years have been spent trying to move towards 'our sound', the fact that we have produced the album ourselves has helped a lot!'

Track Listing:

1) Overdone
2) It's Alright Now
3) Carry Me
4) Home By Now
5) Whenever Wherever
6) Luna
7) Eyes Off You
8) Feel
9) Come To
10) So Long, See You Tomorrow

Have Your Say

Get our free BREAKING NEWS email for Music News and Film News. And subscribe to our YouTube channel now!

Share this news story:

Also find us on:

> For more Music-News stories click here


Bookmark this news story: