Damon Albarn to release concept album Dr Dee 

added: 7 Mar 2012 // by: Newsdesk 

Damon-Albarn-to-release-concept-album-Dr-Dee Printable version

Dr Dee, a new studio album by Damon Albarn, will be released by Parlophone Records on 7th May 2012.

Dr Dee is 18 tracks of songs and music inspired by the life of John Dee, mathematician, polymath and advisor to Elizabeth I. Described by Albarn as 'strange pastoral folk', Dr Dee is a fitting companion to the end of another Elizabethan age. The album combines Albarn's voice with early English choral and instrumentation alongside modern, West African and Renaissance sounds.

Dr Dee was recorded late last year in Albarn's West London studio and also in Salford with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra. The album was mixed by Valgeir Sigursson in Reykjavik.

Dr Dee will be available on CD, vinyl and as a digital download.

The full track listing is: 1) The Golden Dawn 2) Apple Carts 3) Oh Spirit Animate Us 4) The Moon Exalted 5) A Man of England 6) Saturn 7) Coronation 8) The Marvelous Dream 9) A Prayer 10) Edward Kelley 11) Preparation 12) 9 point Star 13) Temptation Comes In The Afternoon 14) Watching the Fire That Waltzed Away 15) Moon (Interlude) 16) Cathedrals 17) Tree Of Life 18) The Dancing King

Damon Albarn will perform songs from the album Dr Dee at OneFest on 14th April 2012 alongside singers and musicians featured on the album, including Madou Diabate.

Have Your Say

Get our free BREAKING NEWS email for Music News and Film News. And subscribe to our YouTube channel now!

Share this news story:

Also find us on:

> For more Music-News stories click here


Bookmark this news story: